janelle-monae--e1356726746311

Jason Merritt. Janelle Monàe. Photograph. The Drop.fm. The Drop.fm. Jan 20, 2016

 

For my second genius hour my topic was about the famous singer Janelle Monáe. I chose to do my genius hour about her because she does really good songs and I wanted to know more about her life before her career. While doing my genius hour I learned a lot about Janelle Monáe. Like how how her father was a garbage truck driver who sadly was also addicted to drugs and the fact that her mother was a janitor. And I also learned the reason why she wears black and white suits. It is because her parents wore uniforms to work and so that she does forget where she comes from she decided to wear an uniform during her performances. I think doing a genius hour about Janelle Monáe helped myself grow as a person because she went from nothing to a big career and also that to be a singer musical can help.

 

240_F_59128133_oR9tmpH2H5UBx10r0jbSpPNUbw7ZSxH6

Redenmas. Abstract Background with Colorful Music notes. Picture. Fotolia. Fotolia. Feb 9th, 2016

 

The difference between my first and second genius hour is that instead of doing it about a gender of music I did about a singer that I admire. I personally think that this genius hour helped me regaining confidence into myself. Because Janelle Monáe showed the world that whoever you are or whatever situation you are in you can be what you always wanted to be.  I don’t think my genius hour will help the world, but maybe some people especially me because it will always remind me that whatever happen there is still a way to make it to the top.

Here is a link to my genius hour presentation: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/15XWrCs1nPYS8XRnz1fhMllCc3ZeLoFWu_EYWTNmeQfg/edit#slide=id.p